Working It Out!

Firstly, is it just me or are the first blog posts the hardest? Like hello, I’m Nicole, I’m a marketing assistant, I suffer from anxiety, I try my absolute best to workout at least four times a week and I often find myself fighting the devil on my shoulder when it comes picking the healthy option over almost any takeaway going (Chinese and Netflix is life).

IMG_1129.jpg
This is me last year in Budapest – probably the last time I remember feeling truly relaxed with my partner, Arthur.

I guess the best way to start my first post is to talk a little bit about what you can expect from Working It Out (It’s literally me trying to work life out – and aren’t we all?) and why I’ve decided to get back into the world of blogging (I had a blog a couple of years ago which revolved around fashion and beauty. When I started to enjoy other things more, I found myself blogging less and less until not at all).

Around a year ago, anxiety decided to turn up at my doorstep and completely change my life. I’m sure I’m not the only one who is totally confused as to where it came from, why it has such a huge impact, and why when it’s there at its strongest, it feels like there’s nothing you can do to make it budge. Relationships, lifestyle and of course my own confidence, have all taken a hit.

Around six months ago, I decided to actually make some changes to try to help diminish the vicious circle of worrying which triggers my anxiety. I went to the doctors where I was referred to the local Steps4Change to try Talk Therapy. But of course, there was a waiting list for that. So what could I do within my own power to try to help? Joining the gym and changing up my eating pattern was my first port of call. And honestly, I saw great results. The busier I got, the less I worried and found myself experiencing less anxiety on a daily basis. Both of these methods were great coping mechanisms for me, but they weren’t going to help my mind when it came to dealing with anxiety outside of the gym. So of course, Talking Therapy was still a must and became more apparent as I starting experiencing more frequent panic attacks, along with more frequent blasts of worrying and anxiety (this might come as a shock to anyone reading this who knows me, as I’ve become pretty good at covering it up).

Joining the gym and changing up my eating pattern was my first port of call. And honestly, I saw great results. The busier I got, the less I worried and found myself experiencing less anxiety on a daily basis. Both of these methods were great coping mechanisms for me, but they weren’t going to help my mind when it came to dealing with anxiety outside of the gym. So of course, Talking Therapy was still a must and became more apparent as I started experiencing more frequent panic attacks, along with more frequent blasts of worrying and anxiety (this might come as a shock to anyone reading this who knows me, as I’ve become pretty good at covering it up).

IMG_6091.jpg
Is it just me or is new gym wear the ultimate motivation to work out?

Fast forward to today, I’ve now attended around four Talking Therapy sessions which have been a great push in the right direction and I’ve starting to learn and grasp techniques to help cope with worrying. And thankfully, as a result, I’m seeing improvements with my relationships (family, partner and friends), lifestyle and even finding myself feeling a little happier. But I’m not quite there yet and that’s the reason for the blog.

It’s time to get my happy back, time to stop comparing myself to others, to feel confident in my own skin and to stop racing to the worst possible outcome of every situation. This blog is going to act as a bit of a journal, giving me a platform to share my good and bad experiences with anxiety, to talk about how health and fitness has become such a big part of my life, along with sharing any exciting trips I go on in the future (any chance to travel and explore somewhere new, I’m there), and I’m pretty sure some fashion and beauty hauls will also make an appearance at some point. I’m really excited to start writing again and I hope you enjoy the posts I start publishing on a weekly basis!

Nicole x

If you’d like to see what I get up to on Instagram, please click here.

4 thoughts on “Working It Out!

  1. Nicole, you’re brilliant for writing this and should be proud of yourself! Going to the gym will 100% help just like it did for me, I hope it goes well for you look forward to reading your blog posts xxxx

    Like

Leave a Reply

