My Fitness Journey – Week One

Week one is complete! Or should I say kind of complete – I’ll explain what I mean by kind of complete in a moment.


I’ve got to say, the first week of a new fitness program is always the toughest. Your body is about to receive a HUGE shock by using muscles you don’t always use, and of course, the more advance your program, the more pressure you are putting on your muscles to do their job. And no one can forget what else comes with a new program, a new level of aftermath pain. One or two days after a workout, the pain can be quite considerable, and for me, abs are my most delicate area. The pain can last a good 3-4 days post-workout. BUT no pain, no gain!

Back to my point (I do love to waffle). The first week of training with a new program is a really exciting time. It’s almost like the whole new year, new you. You get a new boost of motivation and just want to smash each workout. That’s definitely how my first week was initially going. I was feeling great, I was so determined and definitely ready to make some progress.

So right now it’s Sunday night, which means, hypothetically, I should have completed all five sessions, but unfortunately, that’s not the case. So let me explain day by day how I got on and why I didn’t make it to day five.

Monday: I was feeling so determined. All my meals were prepared and I was excited to take on my booty session at the gym after work. My normal routine is to warm up for five minutes on the cross-trainer and then get totally stuck in, and this applies for all of my workouts. Monday’s workout consisted of Hack Squats, Leg Press, Lunges, Sissy Squats, Fitball Squats and Hip Bridges using the Lying Leg Curl Machine. It went really well and I put 110% into this session. I spent time warming up activating my glutes and although I was a sweaty mess, It was totally worth it. Days later definitely confirmed my hard work had paid off as sitting down 2-3 days really did hurt). I completed my workout with 30 minutes on the treadmill.


Tuesday: I was feeling really good about my previous workout, already hurting a little which was strangely rewarding. I was feeling pumped and ready to take on day two with a focus on my chest. My workout consisted of Hammer Incline Press, DB Flys, Decline Hammer, Chest Press superset with DB Curls, Cable Bar and DB Hammers. I completed this workout followed by 30 minutes cardio on the steps machine. I really felt myself focusing even more than before, connecting with each exercise and pushing through the burn.

Wednesday: AND THAT’S WHERE IT WENT JUST A BIT WRONG. I woke up feeling really unsettled and my appetite was way off. Although, thankfully, this was my rest day so I was happy about that and hoping I’d be able to sleep it off and feel ready to go again the next day. The later in the evening it got, the hotter I became and heavier headed I felt. I was not feeling good and my body was aching, but I was still hoping that an early night would help me out so I could continue with my program the next day.

Thursday: Unfortunately, I didn’t wake up feeling much better. I was not myself and I couldn’t really put my finger on it, but I just knew I needed more rest time. Now I totally understand that if your body is telling you to rest, you really need to, but I was feeling so determined, so I actually felt really disappointed because I was feeling so positive about this week, but it was clear I needed another rest day and so my program needed to be put on hold for another day. For me, a routine is everything, and for those are similar, you can relate to how annoying that is.

Now I totally understand that if your body is telling you to rest, you really need to, but I was feeling so determined, so I actually felt really disappointed because I was feeling so positive about this week, but it was clear I needed another rest day and so my program needed to be put on hold for another day. For me, a routine is everything, and for those who are similar, you can relate to how annoying that little hold back can be.

Friday: I woke up feeling considerably better, maybe not 100%, but better. I got back to the gym and this time I focused on my shoulders, triceps and abs – which are still in immense pain today – I can’t laugh without it hurting, or sneeze for that matter. During this workout, I covered DB Shoulder Press, Front DB Raises, Side BB Raises, Delt Pulls, Upright Rows, Ab Machine, Ab Crunches, Russian Ball Twists and Rope Crunches. I found this day so much fun and It definitely made me enjoy triceps training a lot more.


Saturday: It was back and biceps day. I love this day because I’m really passionate about getting a nice strong back. It’s so important for the rest of your training, especially leg day, so it’s a win-win all round. Again, the workout went really well and I felt like I was getting so much out of the session, really taking my time to perfect my form and gain maximum benefits from each set. And by this point, I was also eating healthy and maintaining my recommended calorie allowance.

Sunday (today): So you know how I mentioned previously that I got ill, well, of course, eager Nicole didn’t let herself recover properly and the heavy head came back, along with a terrible chest pain and again, I just felt totally run down. I had to give the last day of my program a miss, which I found annoying as leg day is my favourite day. I knew I had to give myself a day to completely chill out and get back to normal, but I definitely spent too much of my day worrying and feeling guilty.

So! That’s a quick sum up of week one of my fitness program. I really wanted to smash my first week. And obviously, I totally get it’s not the end of the world (I mean, I’ve still gone to the gym four times this past week) but I can’t help but worry about it and that’s something I need to work on.

I think what I need to remember from all of this is that making progress through working out is secondary to my main reason for working out. And that of course, that’s to reduce my worrying and essentially help with my anxiety. I should never let it get to the point where I’m worried and feeling down about not going to the gym because that’s basically defeating the whole purpose. And there is so much more to life – I got to spend the whole day with my dogs, watching crap tv, I mean come on, I’m winning over here.

I’ll be back this time next week to give you the low-down on how week two of my program has gone.

I hope you enjoyed this blog post. If you have any suggestions or recommendations for exercises I should try, or methods of stretching which may help with reducing the pain days after a workout, please let me know via the comment section below!

I hope you all had a lovely weekend

Nicole x

Find me on Instagram & say hi!

Leave a Reply

